Painting with Friends.

I had a two day gig at West Dean at the weekend, glorious weather, gardens, and people. Unfortunetly having returned home with the expectation of a weeks painting with my fellows, I have spent two days very close to the water closet. A tenacious bug has gripped my tum.

West Dean is an evolving environment. Restoration and repair, trimming and affirming. Never guite the same, but a consistently high standard. It is good to work there, it helps keep me on my toes.

Lawns turned to meadows.
Border with a mass of Alium

The weather remained chilly all week. Jeni, Sally and Sarah went to Rye and come back with no sketches, but some rescued items from the vast array of desirable booty that the shops there have to offer. They hope to go to Hastings Contemporary tomorrow. I will look forward to being with them when I feel recovered.

2 thoughts on “Painting with Friends.

  1. Dear Susie

    I sent you a message on your blog saying I had left my painting of Mahonia leaves behind.  Today I went to look at my paintings from West Dean again and I found it – stuck on the bottom of my pad of water-colour paper!  

    I am so pleased to find it as I wanted to frame it and add to my growing collection of artistic attempts.  I am sorry to have put you to any inconvenience looking for it.

    I really enjoyed the course at West Dean – the pace was great – I liked being pushed along.  I loved the demos and I think you are very talented.  I admire your work on your blog and the positive feel it gives – so joyful.  Thank you for what you have taught me – I hope to emulate and perhaps attend another of your courses one day.

    Ann Walker

    Like

    1. Dear Ann, it means a lot to me to recieve your lovely feed back. I’m really glad you enjoyed the course. My desire is always to encourage, if we keep the pleasure of doing, we will be rewarded by progress. You know it! I checked the room thoroughly when I left, so I knew your mohonia was not there. No worries. The next group was hot on our heels and I’m sure it would have been rescued if you hadn’t found it. Alls well. It was such a pleasure meeting you – inspiration that you are – and everyone in the group this time. Best wishes, susie

      Like

Leave a comment